Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Although many corporations thought that their employees ought to dress formally and thus look smart, other people consider that the focus should be on good quality of work. In my opinion, deciding whether to focus on well dress up or value quality work should depend on the nature of profession.

On the one hand, people who work in the corporate world need to dress up properly to look smart, according to some. In other words, good looking attire and well dress-up help these corporate workers to fell confident about their work and office culture. For instances, HSBC bank has certain dress codes in place for their male and female workers so that they look pleasant and smart to attract their customers and also to give the organization an identity. Furthermore, it is commonly believed that this requirement is essential in current world in order to succeed in corporate competition.

On the other hand, it is often thought that it is better to concentrate on the quality of work. The reason behind this thought is at the end of the day it is the quality of the work which counts. High quality of work will increase the productivity and overall performance of the workers and also employees will get huge satisfaction. This is why; the corporate culture is changing rapidly. For example, Google employees are not following any dress codes and casual dresses like jeans are also allowed to wear in the office but they give importance to the quality of work. Therefore, this is a win win situation for both the employer and employees.

Finally, in my view, both of these ideas weight significantly for the appropriate situations but the focus should depend on the nature of profession. While people who work in corporate culture need to dress well, there are also sectors where service is more important. To illustrate, physicians wear scrubs, police wear specific uniform. These uniforms are neither attractive nor lucrative, but their service is all which is important for the society. Hence, we need to understand the situation and type of the work before choosing attire.

In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe it would be better to give the preference of dressing or quality of work depending on the nature of the profession.