Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children
to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What
consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?
It is true that some parents are overly permissive and tend to spoil their children. In
my opinion, this is not a good parenting style, and it can have a range of negative
long-term consequences.
If parents want to raise respectful and well-behaved children, I believe that a
certain amount of discipline is necessary. Having worked with children myself, I
have learnt that clear expectations and boundaries are necessary, and it is important
to be able to say ‘no’ to children when they misbehave or try to push against these
boundaries. This is the only way to help young people to regulate their desires and
develop self-control. In my view, parents who do the opposite and constantly give
in to their children’s demands, are actually doing more harm than good. They are
failing their children rather than being kind to them.
The children of indulgent or lenient parents are likely to grow up with several
negative personality traits. The first and most obvious danger is that these children
will become self-centred adults who show little consideration for the feelings or
needs of others. One consequence of such an attitude could be that these adults are
unable to work successfully in teams with other colleagues. A second negative trait
in such people could be impulsiveness. A person who has never lived with any
boundaries is likely to lack the patience to carefully consider options before
making decisions. This may lead, for example, to compulsive shopping, unwise
financial decisions, or even criminal activity.
In conclusion, parents should help their children to develop self-control and respect
for others, and I do not believe that the permissive parenting style supports this
objective.