Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want.

Is this a good way to raise children?

What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Parents' methods of raising a worthy citizen of society have always been a controversial one. An opinion exists that the liberal way, which provides children with wide freedom, is the most beneficial. I am convinced that this manner of parenting might result in negative consequences.

Forming children’s nature is an extremely difficult process in which parents are to find a middle ground. Allowing the child to do whatever they eager for is an extremely ineffective method. According to Richard Templar's book « Parenting Rules», the lack of inhibitions leads to moral corruption and decreased motivation in children. Thus, an overly libertarian upbringing method an educating affect detrimentally the child and should be considered as unproductive. Parents' methods of raising a worthy citizen of society have always been a controversial one. An opinion exists that the liberal way, which provides children with wide freedom, is the most beneficial. I am convinced that this manner of parenting is to be considered as poor and might result in negative consequences.

To my mind upbringing that does not imply restrictions and authority in the person of parents leads to a number of negative consequences. Permissiveness in the family results in the complication of interaction with others, since the child suppose that all his requirements should be satisfied. According to a study conducted by the University of Vienna, children who do not know prohibitions are more prone to depression due to not confirming high expectations for unfamiliar people. Thereby, the fulfillment of every whim of the child forms in the latter a distorted picture of reality, which might ruin their mental health.

The educational process, which includes only measures to encourage the child, leads to pampering. Over time, the baby will start to use physical strength to obtain the desirable, which might incur severe injuries. American psychologist Dr. Ekman considered a case when an eight-year-old girl used to choke her mother if the latter tried to forbid her anything. Hereby, indulging in all the whims of children might create addiction of using the physical force to acquire their wish.

Summing up, parenting is an extremely responsible process that requires more flexibility than excessive condescension from parents. Extremes in the form of permissiveness produce a number of negative consequences, condemning children in their older life to suffering.