In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family.
Why might people want to do this?
Is it a positive or negative development?
It is becoming more and more common for people to seek information about their ancestors and
family history. I think this is mainly because they want to have fun or learn about how their
families have changed through time, but I personally disapprove of this practice.
One reason why many people are curious about their family history these days is that it is often fun
to trace back one’s bloodline and find out if one is related to any famous people. I remember a
recent story about how a common supermarket clerk in Nevada was discovered to be a descendant
of a British king. Many such descendants live completely ordinary lives, to which a discovery like
that can bring many thrills. Additionally, it would definitely help people to realise how their
families have changed through the years and therefore, learn a thing or two about the causes of
failure and prosperity in different generations.
However, many individuals who find themselves related to the nobility tend to consider tiny shares
of noble blood as birthright to more respect. They, for instance, often demand seats in public
transport when there are more deserving people like pregnant women or the elderly aboard. Apart
from that, some of them might overgeneralise the role of factors which have contributed to a
former generation’s condition, be it inherited wealth or even bad luck, to their own and disregard
the value of their own ideas, efforts and current status.
In conclusion, I think the growing trend towards researching family histories owes mainly to
people’s need for fun, as well as information regarding how their families have developed, but I
believe it should be discouraged.