Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.
What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?
Nowadays, a lot of toys, ranging from simple dolls to complicated electronic gadgets like
video games, are provided for some children by their parents. I think this is not a problem
provided children are sufficiently active and care for their toys.
One of the important advantages of children having lots of toys of toys is that there are
different games for them to play. They can choose one of their toys according to their
mood and taste, and are less likely to become bored. Besides, they would certainly be able
to learn a wider variety of skills like problem solving or organization. Different toys can
teach them different things, which means that the more toys they have, the more they
are likely to learn.
However, having a lot of different toys could possibly lead to children becoming overweight
since many modern toys like video games and LEGOs, which are very common these days,
are usually played indoors. Therefore, they would definitely reduce children’s physical
activity, leading them to gain extra weight. Furthermore, when kids have too many toys,
it is likely that they will take less care of them. In other words, they will probably not
learn to value them if there is always a replacement ready to play with. Consequently,
they would not learn to appreciate their belongings.
In conclusion, I believe that children benefit from an abundance of toys which offer them
variety, as well as teaching them more varied skills. However, it is important that they
keep an active lifestyle and are taught to value every toy.