In some parts of the world it is increasingly popular to research the history of one's own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recent decades have witnessed the upsurge in the number of citizens researching the history of their ancestors, sparking a great deal of public attention. Given that this pattern could be attributed to many reasons, it could lead to many positive consequences.

There are many reasons leading to this trend. First, by digging into the family’s history, individuals could know whether there are congenital diseases in their family’ genetic sequence and therefore get them eradicated. In addition, investigating the family’s ancestors is invariably associated with a deeper understanding of family’s heroic deeds and forefathers’ famous achievements, which could make their descendants highly respected by society.

It should be acknowledged that researching the family’s history could bestow net positive benefits. First, It would act as a deterrent for people from being sensitive to crippling diseases, shortening their life expectancy. For example, OneRepublic’s leading singer has undergone operations amputating his genitalia when he knows that he could be susceptible to hereditary prostate cancer from his grandfather. Second, families with many important contributions to the country could receive pecuniary assistance from governments, which could release their financial burdens. In fact, after proving that their grandparents used to be soldiers fighting for the Independence of Vietnam, many families could profit from monetary aid and be prioritised in many public services, remarkably extricating them from the cycle of poverty.

In conclusion, health protection and financial rewards could be instrumental in the upward pattern of many individuals investigating their family’s history. This trend could culminate in many desirable consequences pertaining to longer longevity and releasing economic burdens.