Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

In our today’s era, there has been an ongoing debate among people who support the complying of death penalty to violent crimes and those who strongly oppose this ultimate punishment. Although many people consider it ethically unacceptable penalty in contemporary society, I believe that it still plays an essential role in maintaining social order and safety.

In one hand, I accept that capital punishment exposes a number of demerits. First, it creates a contradiction between respecting and depriving the inherent right to life of human being. No one is legally entitled to take other people’s lives even with authority. Moreover, there would be the possibility of condemning innocent civilians to death. Further, giving retribution to felons by execution is nothing more than the act of a criminal murdering others.

On the other hand, I opt for the executing of capital sentence to those who commit serious offence because of its ample merits. That culprits receive death penalty can directly deters them from committing crimes or escaping from prison. In addition, the costly expense budgeted on imprisonment can be economized and invested for other more essential areas such as education and public health. More importantly, the fear of being under sentence of death will psychologically restrain people from committing criminal behaviours, and consequently decreases the rates of felonies.

In a nutshell, there is no objective assertion of whether capital punishment is morally and illegally right or not. Despite of its disadvantages, I still advocate applying this kind of harsh punishment in eliminating criminal offence to keep the society secure.