As you have had a long break and been free from school due to the worldwide spread of a new fatal disease, you may have a chance to reflect on many different things in life. What do you think are the positive and negative aspects found/revealed in/by this mishap?

Write your answer in the form of an Advantage-Disadvantage essay.

Positive and Negative Effects of Pandemic Corona Virus

It is strongly believed that corona virus disease or COVID 19, a recent contagious disease which was first reported in Wuhan of China, has been a dominant subject covering all means of media these days. Its rapid spread has a great influence on over a hundred countries all over the world including Viet Nam. From my perspectives, this pandemic obviously brings Viet Nam both upside and downside.

There are two main benefits that are brought by this mishap. The first positive side in this case is that it significantly reduces traffic congestion and lowers the rate of traffic accidents. Since the outbreak of corona virus, most of Vietnamese citizens have tended to stay at home/comply to the “Shelter in place” Order of the government to protect them from the risk of being infectious. Consequently, many of vehicles on the streets are minimized considerably, and the level of traffic safety is also notably increasing during this period. Another good point that can be clearly seen is that the environment is less polluted after COVID 19 becomes a pandemic. That Vietnamese individuals remain at home and barely go out to enjoy service at cinemas, restaurants or entertainment centers diminishes a great amount of trash discarded daily. Moreover, they are more aware of cleaning up their living areas due to the fear of getting exposure to the germ.

However, pandemic corona virus has also brought about ample demerits to the economy and education of Vietnam not to mention the fact that it is infecting and terrorizing millions of Vietnamese people. Firstly, it forces numerous businesses to be closed and leads to a financial crisis among people who are temporary jobless. It also creates an imbalance in the consumer market. Food and service are almost unsaleable while some stuff such as masks and hand sanitizer are hunted high and low even though its price is many times as much as it used to be before. Additionally, Vietnamese education is also a factor willy-nilly having to suffer from this pandemic. Since the end of the two-week break for Tet holiday, students of all levels around Viet Nam are continually compelled to be away from school. They are suggested to engage in online study via social networking sites, but it doesn’t deliver much effectiveness. As a result, it is extremely challenging for the schools to keep their students’ learning on track as well as adjust the curriculum reasonably.

In brief, everything has two-sided affairs, and this pandemic is not an exception. Nevertheless, there is no doubt that its drawbacks outweigh its perks. It not only intensifies the number of infectious, quarantined and even dead cases day by day, but also affects negatively to all aspects especially economy and education of many nations worldwide in general and Vietnam in particular, making it a pandemic of this century. Therefore, it is time for every single person to take precaution and joined hand to fight against this fatal disease.