Some people are born to be leaders, while others believe leadership can be learnt.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past decades, people have differing views about whether leadership skill is bestowed at birth or acquirable. Personally judging, while it is often stated that people are born to be leaders, I am of the opinion that this skill can be learnt.

On the one side of the argument, there is a portion that believes leadership is hereditary, and it is totally reasonable. In fact, those who lead a group, company, or nation usually possess optimistic and energetic vibes that affect people around them. They also have the innate ability to persuade and comfort anyone if needed. One of the vivid examples for this is Hillary Clinton. She could inspire and encourage others to work together effectively through her motivational speeches. Some researches have also shown that there is a significant difference between a natural leadership skill and a learnt one. A natural leader can manage to maintain a company or an organization effortlessly, whereas others would find it difficult to achieve the same thing.

I do not think these kinds of arguments stand up to scrutiny as I would argue that there is almost nothing that people cannot learn, including leadership skill. There are many reasons that lead me to believe this. I strongly concur with those who claim that there are several factors that make a person a great leader, such as discipline, resourcefulness and the ability to “feel with” another person, known as empathy. These skills can be developed throughout one's training and experience. However, listening to an informative lecture, or even reading one of the many books on leadership, does not develop leadership skills. We will know more about leadership, but we can’t be a leader with information alone. We have to put it into practice. Even Steve Jobs, a natural leader, has to practice his public speaking skill multiple times in order to convince his staff.

All things considered, although it can be controversial that leaders are born and not made. As had been outlined above, those natural leaders surround them with the positive vibes and be able to inspire passion and energy in others. Nevertheless, I maintain my original position that this kind of skill can be learnt through both theoretical and practical training.