Some people are born to be leaders, other believe leadership can be learnt. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people are born with natural leadership while others believe in the notion that the skills can be taught. In my opinion, successful leadership is a combination of both inborn virtues and persistence training.

Arguably, people do not enter the world with equal abilities, with equal talents. Hence, there are certain individuals inherit certain qualities and traits that make them better suited to leadership, in the same way that others are born with amazing musical gifts or athletic talents. First, extroversion is consistently associated with obtaining leadership positions and leader effectiveness. Remarkable leaders usually share common characteristics such as being bold, assertive and risk-taking. Leaders also need to be smart to analyze situations and figure out courses of actions. Therefore, intelligence is another significant factor that is inextricably linked to leadership capabilities. There is some ‘raw material’, some inborn qualities that predispose people to become a leader from the onset of their journey.

That being said, introverts and persons of average intelligence without extraordinary endowment can make good leaders if they aspire to become one. The job of leading an organization, a military unit or a nation is fantastically complex and diverse. Thus, many companies embrace this doctrine which is evident through leadership training programmes. Constant training and practice would equip participants with the skill sets necessary for high ranking positions. More importantly, leadership is often a choice. If the fear of leading overrides the willingness to come forward to take the challenge then one is a follower. In other words, when one is inclined to be hidden in the crowd, they are more likely to produce mediocre results regardless of receiving adequate formal training.

The bottom line is that leadership requires a set of innate traits, refined and perfected over time with education, training and experience. Ordinary people without natural leadership skills can become great leaders through the process of learning and observation.