some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative vieww is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minority community.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The twenty-first century is marked by a high frequency of population movements, which has led to an opinion being divided as to whether immigrants should learn about the targeted culture or form a minority group in a new country. It is necessary for newcomers to continue following their traditions, while learning new etiquette to integrate into a new community.

Understanding local traditions can certainly facilitate the transition process, during the early stage of a migrant’s life in a new society. It is apparent that by observing local conventions and recognizing the cultural gaps, one can know what to do to avoid embarrassment or misunderstanding, potentially giving rise to unnecessary hostility, and effect a sense of comfort for themselves. For example, it is a norm in Vietnam to ask about one’s occupation, salaries and marital status in the first encounter, while such questions are considered inappropriate to ask in Western countries before establishing a rapport. Therefore, gaining an insight in local custom is vital to create a harmony between the locals and immigrants.

While learning about a new culture, nevertheless it is equally essential to be able to maintain one’s ethnic identity. This is simply because the harmonious coexistence of various ethnic groups is of benefit to both the locals and new settlers. Not only can being able to continue practicing one’s cultural traditions in a foreign environment counteract stress stemming from culture shock, but also increase their confidence in residence in such area. More significantly, the flourishing of ethnic diversity contributes to the establishment of a multi-cultural environment, a prerequisite for attracting highly skilled workforce across the world.

in conclusion, to actually live and thrive in other countries, emigrants should gain more knowledge about local customs and simultaneously, establish their own communities where they can sustain a connection with their ancestral roots.