Some people argue that mobile phones should be banned in public, while other believe that the use of mobile phones is the basic rights of a human. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The 21st century is highlighted by modern technologies which bring many benefits and convenience to the general population. Nevertheless, in many countries around the world, the use of mobile phones, especially in public, is usually argued with constant debate for its advantages and drawbacks. In my opinion, mobile phones should be prohibited in public sites, such as transport, theatres or restaurants.

The mobile phone is primarily responsible for public disruptions. When one focuses on the digital screen, he or she will be distracted from the potential dangers in public sites. For example, in 2012, hundreds of people were recorded as severely damaged or injured because of an individual’s carelessness when crossing the road. This serious urban problem was blamed for a famous game during that time, Pokemon Go, which was played and controlled via a digital screen with the most innovative features at the moment. As a result, hundreds of people were captivated by the mobile game even when they were walking across the road, leading to miserable accidents for which the excessive use of mobile phones was blamed. The examples of the downside of using mobile phones in public are many. Meanwhile, increasing volume is often considered impolite or even offensive. Therefore, with a new policy for prohibiting the use of cell phones in public, especially when one participates in public transport, I believe a city can reduce the urban disruptions from noise pollution and merit the individual citizens simultaneously.

On the negative side, this policy can be seen as unnecessary and directly impair the citizens’ rights. It is worth mentioning that many people use mobile phones not only for entertainment but also for primary importance of their own, such as making phone calls to their families or colleagues, studying or working online, or receiving recent updates on significant things in their life. Moreover, to be able to use one’s personal property is the basic rights of all citizens regardless of permanent or temporary residence. Therefore, the policy, if implemented, will result in high unsatisfactory in the general population and a local authority should sensibly tackle the negative issues resulting from the continuous use of the mobile phone and simultaneously satisfy the demands of the population.

As suggested above, a city should work on the proposal of banning mobile phones in public sites due to a variety of urban disruptions coming from a tiny electronic device. However, the local authority should also consider the needs of its members and respect their rights and privacy.