Some people argue that technological inventions such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive.

It is undoubtedly the case that the world has become a global village. Along with this, there are widely differing views on the issue of whether that with the growth of technology, especially smartphone invasion, has broadened social gap between people or not. I’m totally against this argument for the following reasons.

Just as the beginning, with smartphone, worldwide communication becomes easier, cheaper, and faster. Parents can FaceTime their sweetie who studying away from home. Moreover, through social medias, they can share personal memory to the whole world, somewhat gives inspiration. For instance, the LGBT communication these days is no more isolated since the development of smartphone and Internet, it ultimately reduces a part of suicide and so on …

What is more, in today's world with all the bad things happening left and right, some people want to escape that reality which doesn't mean they become antisocial. Antisocial definitely means “not want the company of others”. Fortunately, the virtual world technology brought could ease even heal them. Just this would be much easier to have company online, there are real person, real voice, real human and real emotion. Those people afresh interface temporarily quit the harsh reality.

Last but not least, it really does depend on the technology use. While technology can make people less social by distracting them from others they may also be able to connect with others through social media which is social. It goes without saying that smartphone is invented to serve people, not to give order. Hence, it’s awkward to blame them on making us socially less interactive.

Taking everything into consideration, technological inventions make up an essential part of today society. Smartphone doesn’t cause antisocial behavior so users should use them responsibly and wisely, keep balance between virtual and reality.