Some people argue that the use of animals in medical research for the benefit of humans is acceptable, while others believe that it is wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Certain citizens believe that animal testing in the medical field has positive impact on human well-being, while others argue that it is inappropriate. In my opinion, while ethical issues are vital to consider, this kind of research is more beneficial for people to increase life expectancy.

There are two main reasons to illustrate those people who favor any benefit for animal rights. One of them is that medical experiments on creatures are cruel and inhuman, causing these subjects to die in horror and torture. For example, rats are commonly subjected to force feeding, water and food deprivation by researchers to study changes in the endocrine system. Secondly, scientists should not use animals in medical tests to find out some uncertain outcome as a result of too many unknown factors, not only unethical but ruining the lives of every species. Drug testing is a prime example of ethical problems. Therefore, it is believed that animal should be as humane as possible.

On the other hand, they are convinced that experiments bring healthier lives to humanity, as well as more effective treatments for disease. To begin with, medical testing contributes to ensuring the best dosage of drugs while avoiding overdoses or serious adverse effects. For instance, fourth-generation antibiotics are the best medicines for treating bacteria and allow people to take them with confidence in our time, as experts have done countless tests on baboons. Therefore, this kind of testing does increase life expectancy and the population is less likely to suffer from infection.

In conclusion, although animal testing violates the moral ethics and lives of these test subjects, I believe that this is an alternative to living longer by pre-testing drugs on a specific animal.