Some people get into debt by buying they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent from having this problem?

The advancement of this era leads to an increase in people’s necessities day by day. However, many people are interested in buying things that they do not even need or might not afford them. This essay will discuss why they get into debt and explain some solutions to reduce this situation.

Firstly, the rapid development of advertisement and social media makes lifestyles not sustainable. Many trends are created every day and many people are easily caught up in the changes from these trends. Besides, consumers might be under pressure from celebrities and friends to see them use the latest products in the market, which causes consumers to buy these products to keep up with them. For example, when iPhone came out with the latest model, many people even took out a loan to get them because their friends all had these smartphones.

On the contrary, there are some solutions to prevent this behavior. Banks can raise interest rates on loans or reduce spending limits on credit cards to decline the number of victims of consumerism. Customers tend to limit borrowing if they see an upward trend in bank interest rates, so they may be afraid to borrow to buy unnecessary things. Moreover, the family’s early education in finance and personal spending also helps children to be aware of financial management.

In conclusion, an educated society is needed to reduce the burden of debts, and families also play an important role in helping children to have an awareness of financial management.