Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that we should study our family history, others suggest that we had better pay full attention to the presence and future. This essay discusses both views and shows preference to the first opinion over the latter one.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that several things in the past do not benefit the prosperity, development and happiness of people in the present and future. For instance, if a kid cannot accept the divorce of their parents and constantly ask questions, be craving for reasons why they broke up and drowning in regret, the kid will be inclined to end up with heavier depression, anxiety regardless of the reasons he/she will get. Moreover, majority of people are now up to their neck with their work just to earn a decent living as the living expenditure has grown exponentially recently while time is limited. Therefore, it is totally understandable for people to move on for a better future without looking back.

On the other hand, since ancestors and family members play a vital role in deciding our genetics, it is utmost important to learn about our antecedents because that knowledge may help us discover our hidden talents, strengths or even our deep down characteristics which are similar to those of our parents or grandparents, fostering higher self-awareness, which will help us live happily. Furthermore, researching about our family history definitely brings us a wonderful feeling of gratefulness and a healthier mentality. One of the most salient examples for this is the case of the “Be grateful” program aiming at a growing number of Vietnamese adolescents who take their current high living standards for granted, inevitably resulting in overwhelming boredom and unfulfillment. This program encourages these youngsters to learn about the hardship that their grandparents went through during the Vietnam war to bring them current peace. As a result, 90% of participants in this program, after only 10 months, are reported to be more content and grateful for their lives than ever before, which is surely beneficial for both their physical and mental development in the present and future.

Notwithstanding the fact that both perspectives have some validity, it seems to me that it is more convincing for people to research thoroughly and meticulously about their family history instead of neglecting the past to just focus on the present and future.