Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Graduates from universities have contributed significantly to plenty of positive changes in the world. Despite this reality, there has been a growing idea that students need to pay full tuition and fees since university education is beneficial to only individuals instead of society. This essay totally disagrees with the statement due to the irrational reason and the impossibility of the above perspective.

As an initial point to counter the statement, we can take a look at the fact that higher education actually brings advantages to the community. First and foremost, higher education has tremendously improved the quality of the global labor force as it has trained and provided more and more qualified doctors, lawyers, scientific researchers to society. These professionals have undoubtedly contributed to the considerable development in every aspect of our lives such as healthcare, manufacturing, politics, and technology. Furthermore, whenever a government is suffering from a shortage of experts in a particular industry, both national and local authorities must sponsor their qualified citizens through college in order to meet the urgent demand as soon as possible. One of the most salient examples of this is the case of Vietnam back in 2010. At that time, Vietnam lacked a huge number of doctors, thus death rate rocketed remarkably. Therefore, the Vietnamese government made a wise decision to sponsor current nurses’ higher education, resulting in the fulfillment of empty doctor occupations and a plunge in the number of dead patients 6 years later.

Notwithstanding the above convincing points, we can find further opposition to the statement by examining the ability of students to pay the outrageously expensive tuition and fees of most universities. According to recent research, it is completely impossible for the majority of students to afford higher education without any funding since the average tuition and fees in the world have grown exponentially in the past decade. For this reason, if neither the private institutions nor the government finance higher education, there is a high probability that the workforce will miss out on miss a lot of talents out. For instance, Barack Obama, a former president of the U.S.A, managed to pursue his law degree thanks to an honor scholarship from his university. Without that support, neither America nor the world would have received such enormous values from this compassionate humanitarian president.

It appears that based on the above-referenced explanation, we cannot make any other choice than to fall on the opposite side of the belief that students should pay their tuition and fees without any support or reduction due to the illusion that higher education benefits individuals but society.