Some people arrgue that girls and boys should be educated saparately while others think that it is more advantaguous for children to study at a same school. What is your opinion?

It is sometimes argued that children should attend single-sex school to gain a better result. while I agree that all-girl and all-boy schools can bring some benefits to the children, I would argue that co-education is the best environment for students to study.

On the one hand, a single-sex school makes students concentrate more on studying to achieve the best academic performance. when girls and boys turn to puberty period, they tend to be more curious about the opposite gender and easily fall in a relationship, which can lead to their neglect on studying. Separate education can avoid these distractions. Moreover, teachers in these schools know their student’s needs better, so that boys and girls who have different physical and mental characteristics have more opportunity to meet their distinct needs. For instance, girls appear to be more enthusiastic in social science subjects like psychology, literature whereas boys more likely to interest in physical activities. Being understood these differences well may help students receive more efficient education.

On the other hand, I would argue that it’s healthier and more beneficial for children to attend a mixed school. In actual fact, co-education is an epitome of real society, to which boys and girls have to face when they graduate and join the workforce. By having come in contact with the other gender in the school years, they can understand and sympathize with each other in order to treat them better. In addition, a curriculum in which boys and girls are treated equally, for example, they use the same workbook, join in the same activities help students feel more confident and take out social statuses.

In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that single-sex schools can bring some advantages in studying, I am still convinced that co-education is the best environment for students to gain the best result.