Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world’s fuel resourches. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Flying by aeroplane is becoming more popular throughout the years and will inevitably grow in the future. As a result, some argue that it should be limited due to the notion that it consumes the fuel supply of the world and causes severe air pollution. This essay will discuss why the writer completely disagrees to this notion.

To begin with, a certain minority thinks that the aviation industry should be given some restrictions because planes have bigger engines. Hence, they use a huge amount of fuel to travel longer miles across the globe and as a result, there is an increasing amount of carbon dioxide emission on the atmosphere which worsens air pollution. Moreover, as time pass by, there is an incredible rise of travellers that enables the airlines to add more flights to accommodate the demands of the people that is believed to be one of the main cause of global warming and further depletion of the supply of the fossil fuel reserve. However, the aviation industry is not the only cause of air pollution. Numerous studies show that travelling on land causes more air pollution. According to EEA, transporting the same number of passengers in a plane by bus emits more carbon dioxide because vehicles use more energy and another 10 % will be added due to the heavy traffic on the roads. Furthermore, because of the technological advancement, alternative fuels are already promulgated and aircraft engines are now enhanced and modified to lessen the use of fuel and reduce air pollution.

After positing the above arguments, the writer unequivocally disagrees that air travel should be reduced because of its tremendous benefits. First, it plays a vital role in building a countries economy by aiding the promotion of tourism. It creates more revenues for the government and provides job opportunities for people to thrive. Second, it gives experience to people and helps reached their dreams by allowing them to go to other places. Although it accounts to 10 % of carbon dioxide emission and huge fuel consumption, a lot of agencies such as the United Nations, EEA, and Commercial Aviation Alternative Fuel Initiative, are working together towards an eco-friendly air journey. Strict rules and guidelines are now being implemented to make sure that the carbon emission is less, if not totally zero. Also, developments and researches are continuously funded by governments worldwide to create alternative fuels for planes.

In conclusion, air travel should not be restricted because it is not the main cause of air pollution and renewable energy sources are now being used as a substitute for fuel.