Some people think that students should study in groups Others however believe that students should study alone Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Education is a vital tool for an individual’s success. Concerning this, while some think that self-study is more effective, others argue that learning in group is better. This essay will discuss both sides and will give the writers opinion in the end.

Both studying in group and in solitary have its advantages and disadvantages. According to some studies, group session can increase a student’s skills as well as their critical thinking and problem-solving skills. They can collaborate with the group in case there are unclear concepts and theories and can share different inputs and opinions. However, it is prone to enormous distractions like unnecessary chatting and joking instead of reading. For this reason, self-review can be deemed beneficial as there are fewer distractions. A learner can concentrate more on the subject matter that he or she is studying because of the quiet and comfortable environment. This enables them to study at their own pace and allows them to learn systematically. Unfortunately, this is at risk for procrastination, since no one is motivating the student to focus on his or her studies.

After positing the above points, the writer believes that it depends on the subject that the learners are studying and their study habits. For instance, group classes can be helpful to those who are studying mathematical equation and computation. They can discuss the appropriate concepts, formulas and solutions that can be applied to come up with the correct answer. On the contrary, those who are studying literature and history is best to be learned alone since it requires more concentration for comprehension and memorization. Furthermore, every student has their studying habits and learning styles. Some learn best and can concentrate well while studying. Some students have a short attention span and can be easily interrupted with the noise in the surroundings. Whereas, some doesn’t mind the loud environment and learns more by group discussions.

In conclusion, both studying in group and alone are beneficial. However, it depends on the student’s studying habits and the subject matter that he or she is studying.