Some people believe that all wild animals should be protected Others say that few wild animals should be protected instead Discuss both views and give your opinion

Every year we see increasing number of wild animals that getting extinct and this comes in the backdrop of increasing number of species moving to endangered animals list. Some people are of the opinion that we should attempt of save all wild animals while others believe that we should cherry pick a handful few with focused efforts on saving them.

Firstly, wild animals an integral part of Earth’s ecosystem and they have as much right to our planet as much as human beings. Due to over exploitation of finite resources which leads to shrinking area under forest cover, many wild animals are getting wiped out. Since we humans are primary cause of their endangerment, it becomes our obligation to protect all the animals. While planning to safeguard their existence, we should aim to cover all the animals rather than the select few. Moreover, there are no objective deterministic factors which could help decide which animals should be protected. One could argue that we should save the animals which are fewer in numbers like Asiatic lions or African but I tend to disagree with this method simply because of that if our drive to save one animals is comprehensive and scalable then this would automatically cover large species.

The other side of the coin where we focus efforts on saving preferred one isn’t totally invalid. As noble as our cause of saving is it requires copious amounts of funding and volunteers to make it happen. And therefore, it becomes important to weigh our priorities. This money could be used for humanitarian causes like feeding hungry or vaccinating population in third world countries. However, the most important counter argument to this is that the Earth’s ecosystem might have unpredictable detrimental efforts should we attempt to save a select few.

In conclusion, we should attempt to save all species of the wild animals as it could potentially have upsetting effects.