Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes Other people believe that it is important

In recent times one of the most debated issues relates to freedom of children. Some people assert that if children have the freedom to make their own choices, they will grow up into selfish individuals, while the others contend that it is beneficial for children to decide what they should eat, wear or watch.

On the one side of the argument there are people who reason that parents should not allow their children to make their own choices. First and foremost, when children have total freedom to make their choices, they may fail to consider the feelings of others. For instance, if a child insist that he want to watch cartoon on TV, he may not consider what other members of the family want to watch on TV. If parents allowing them to watch cartoon, they imposed wrong habit into the mind of a child, which definitely make him a selfish person who does not care for others. The second point in this context is that it is important for parents to make certain decisions related to their foods because there is always a risk for the occurrence of any hazard. To exemplify. A five years old, who have a freedom to eat junk foods, have a high chances of obesity, which leads to other health-related issues.

On the other hand, the other groups believe that it is important for children to make their own choices. According to them, it is important for children to learn how to make decisions regarding his lifestyles or future career as decision making is an important skill for success in life. When he is allowed to make his own choices, he will learn to take the responsibility for this actions. Further, a child who takes small decisions right from his childhood can deal with the challenges and conflicts in life more effectively. There is a high possibility to make wrong decision in childhood as having less experience about a life, but it provides an opportunity to learn how to solve certain issues, which develop problem-solving technique into them.

To conclude, I believe that even through children should be allowed to make their own choices, parents should teach them to respect the feelings of others. Parents should also set limits for a children related to their choices.