Some people believe that the arts should receive subsidies or sponsorship from government and big companies. Others feel such spending is a luxury and that it would be better if it were invested in scientific projects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Arts and science are indispensable in every person’s life and society because of their enormous contribution to the development of national culture and economy. For this reason, there has been dividing opinions regarding whether the sponsorship should be given to arts or science. In this essay, I will discuss these two views and decide which field deserves to get financial aid from the Government.

First of all, arts has an integral part in enriching our lives and national culture by providing numerous forms of entertainment to the society (for example, music and poetry). With the help of a colossal number of historical artworks, many archaeologists could discover more about our ancestors and past events. Additionally, by encouraging amateur arts groups, they can nourish potential talents and bring them together. These young artists then can join a local group and perform on stage to serve media work and spread values of arts to the public. However, we cannot deny the fact that arts currently contributes too little to the national economy. According to reports done by statisticians, trading technological or scientific products produces a far larger profit than artworks do. Thus, to help the economy advance consistently, investing in the arts is not ideal.

In terms of science, this field, undeniably, has been of great importance recently. Social living standards are always on the rise thank to continuous scientific advances. Moreover, the strength and the wealth of a nation are associated with the development and sophistication of science. A modern economy, therefore, cannot thrive without a strong scientific base. A good example for this is that several developed countries including the US and Russia can produce COVID-19 vaccines and sell it worldwide. This invention is truly an incredible success that not all countries could achieve.

To sum up, arts and science are both meaningful and essential to the society, and if I were in the Government position, I would divide the financial aid equally to these two core fields.