Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities while others disagree. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that bicycles are the ideal means of transport in urban areas, while some people oppose this viewpoint. Personally, I think that riding bicycles can bring more benefits than risks to urban citizens

On the one hand, there are a range of disadvantages when people commute by bicycles in the cities. To begin with, bicycles are not as comfortable as motorcars or public transportation. In fact, bicycles do not have a shelter, so it is inconvenient when people commute in extreme weather such as sunny or stormy. The other disadvantage is that riding a bicycle is much more risky in big cities because it increases the risk of accidents. In many countries around the world, some governments do not build specific lanes for cycling, so many bicycle riders merge into car lanes. As a result, it can lead to many accidents for commuters

On the other hand, it is undeniable that there are some tremendous benefits of riding a bicycle in the big cities. Firstly, having a contribution towards being eco- friendly is one of the most advantages when people ride bicycles. For instance, Beijing is the most polluted city in the world because there are many cars or other vehicles during rush hours, so it releases a large amount of smoke into the environment. It can lead to the risk of air pollution in the future, so riding bicycles is the best way for protecting the environment. Secondly,it is easier for bike users to commute through congested places. Bicycles is so small that people can lift it during traffic jam

In conclusion,despite a few risks, it is evident that many countries are promoting the use of bicycles as they provide many benefits such as reducing air pollution and commuting easily.