Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals have different views about whether a life sentence should be imposed on serious offenders or not. While there are some arguments in favour of the latter, I believe that it is more effective if judges focus on the former.

There are a host of reasons why the death penalty should be abolished. Firstly, death is not a long-term solution to solve the roof of crimes. This could be down the fact that there is an abundance of reasons why offenders commit crimes. For instance, murders are linked with the of poverty and unemployment. For some less educated people, getting a job is more difficult than being a thief to make ends meet. Secondly, people who commit serious crimes such as robbers and murders might become a law-abiding citizen after being rehabilitated. In particular, capital punishment is likely to deprive of their life in the future.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that people committing severe crimes should receive a life sentence. First of all, capital punishment can act as a deterrent against the motivation of crime. They need to learn that: If they cross the border, they have to pay the price for their wrong deeds. In other words, this kind of punishment might threaten other citizens not to break the law so as to guarantee safety for all citizens. Secondly, the death sentence seems to be an optimal solution to the problem of re-offending. Taking juvenile delinquents into consideration. Youngsters who do not have mature thinking probably re-offend after being rehabilitated due to the adverse impact of their peers.

In conclusion, it seems to me that capital punishment should be applied for severe criminals because this is a necessary measure to help governments deal with crime.