Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, it is believed that parents should hold responsibilities for crimes committed by their children. In my viewpoint, there are still some subtle exceptions yet various cases merit greater punishments for the caregivers.

Those arguing against this idea accentuate that parents are not always blameworthy. This point can be illustrated by various loving households that still display children with social problems. The case often happens with children suffering from mental health’s issue including dissociative disorders. These conditions, in which case parents should not be punished, might be generated from genetic malfunctioning, trauma that upbringers are not aware of or the effect from detrimental content on social networking platforms.

Yet, aside from these factors that the court must consider, parents still play a crucial role in molding young children's mindset. Therefore, the caregivers should be accountable for their children’s law offending actions. The argument is corroborated by the fact that most young children who decide to commit crime usually come from abusive households. Children can effortlessly imitate their upbringer’s acts and in this situation, they will consider extreme activities as a normal habit. For instance, animal torturing, peers insulting and bullying. On the other hand, households with nonchalant parents also lead to unexpected behaviors since they do not focus on their children’s manners or social life to detect their offspring's problems.

In summary, there are several cases where parents are not at fault for their children’s delinquent behavior but most of the time, they are the ones who trigger the child’s motive of being reckless. To build a safe and equal society, positive reform including mental health treatment or trying parents for their child’s crime is necessary.