Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished.

Others think the parents should be punished instead.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, it is widely believed that delinquent juveniles ought to be charged, whilst several individuals claim that their parents are necessary to be responsible for their crimes. From my perspective, I concur with the former statement.

On the one side, it is transparent that parents should be responsible for their children’s crimes. That is because they indirectly affect their kids’ behaviour to be abnormal and dangerous through several cases of abuse. To explain, children might mimic their parents’ violent behaviour and then attempt to those with other individuals. Studies have shown that nearly all criminals under 18 have been abused in some way by their parents. Thus, sentencing parents would assist them in improving their educational methods to be more suitable and helpful for children to be good residents.

On the other side, I agree that juveniles have to be found guilty of committing crimes. The key rationale is that they could be integrated back into society with better behaviours through mental treatments. To elaborate, when they receive punishments, they will wonder why they have those convictions. From that activity, they could gradually realise that what they have affected society is unacceptable and actively alter their behaviours through therapy or psychological education. Therefore, they could be rehabilitated and returned to freedom as better citizens serving the country.

In conclusion, while it is deemed that parents should receive penalties because of their indirect effect on their children’s behaviours, I hold a firm belief that children should be the ones who take all of the responsibility for committing crimes due to possible integration into society.