Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether young individuals or their fathers and mothers should be penalised for the children’s unlawful acts, is a topic of interest among people. This essay will discuss both aspects and explain why I advocate the view that juvenile delinquents should be held accountable for their wrongdoings.

One the one hand, some people argue that children are unable to distinguish right from wrong, and parents as role models thus shoulder the responsibility when their children have done wicked things. Children are immature and unaware of the consequences caused by their behaviors. Because of this, penalising them is ineffective. In contrast, individuals gave birth to the young criminals, who should have taught their sons and daughters codes of conduct should be punished instead.

On the other hand, others favor the law enforcement on young law-breakers in lieu of their parents. It is undeniable that workers are bearing heavier workload nowadays. If they do not work hard, they are placed at risk of lossing their jobs in the fiercely competitive labor market. The issue maybe worse for parental roles, as they have to provide for their families, and raise their dependants. Therefore, penalising them for their wayward children’s mistakes appears as unjustified. Another explanation why children should not shirk their responsibility of violating regulations is that punishments makes them learn necessary lessons to grow up. Imprisonment, vocational training would make young criminals regconize that any law-breaking acts will face dire consequences.

In sum, I believe that children should be punished when disobeying the law, not their parents. Even though children may not acknowledge of their unlawful acts, being in prisons or learn necessary life lesson would turn them into aldults.