Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, employee welfare has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although, the important of dress code and appearance at the workplace has already been recognized and accepted, the issue as to whether a mandatory dress code should be abolished or maintained remains controversial. In my opinion, imposing dress code at the workplace is beneficial, crucial for some reasons.

Firstly, it is important to recognize that dress code promotes a professional working environment. Many may argue that, especially designers argue that wearing comfortable clothes with their favorite designs help them feel more creative and perform better outcomes. This argument could be true to some extents. However, they should take into account the fact that employees are the resources of the company, what they wear will reflect the company’s image. Moreover, wearing uniform can protect female workers from sexual harassment. For example, the large percentage of females like to wear fashionable clothes with cut-off designs, which can show their beauty and improve their status. However, if they are not conscious about what they wear, they can be victims of sexual harassment and even abuse. With dress code, these things can be prevented and or at least be mitigated. This example indicates that putting some limitations on dressing up, males and females will be less distracted from their main tasks, thereby improving work performance and productivity.

Secondly, it is equally important to recognize that uniforms are compulsory on many occasions. Others may argue that employers should focus on the quality of employees’ work and not control how their employees dress. However, they are ignorant of the fact that in many cases, uniform is a mandatory issue. For instance, firefighters usually wears heavily protected uniform that protect them from flames and excessive heat. It also helps the citizen to recognize the employee. Such uniforms are specially designed and validated by local government. Therefore, in such high-risk cases, wearing uniform is a must.

In conclusion, the standardization of work uniforms has positive influence on work efficiency. Not only do they promote the professionalism but also bring safety as mentioned above.