A person worth's nowadays seems to be judged accounting to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Over the past couple of decades, human behaviour standard has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although the importance of ethic value such as kindness, trust and so on, has already been recognized and accepted through a myriad of years. The issue as to whether these old value is no longer suitable for nowadays and should be light-weighted remains controversial. In my opinion, old-valuable ethic standards are still crucial for the following reasons.

Firstly, behaviours and characteristics are used to judge a person's morality. some may argue that those who having high social status always behave in correct ways. This argument could be true to some extents. however, they should take into account the fact that not all high social status people have suitable behaviour, there are some who doing professional jobs and wearing luxurious clothes, but it does not mean they act correctly, as the saying goes " you cannot judge a book by its cover". For instance, if there is a traffic accident, the victim is in emergency and he or she needs to go straight to the hospital. however, many people turn the bind eyes on to not get involved in that situation. The one who can save the victim at the moment is a kind and tolerance person, the one who have been taught to do the right things at the right time, regardless of their status or possession.

Secondly, it is important to recognize that old-fashioned ethics are used to teach children. When we all were kids, we used to be taught to become a good citizen. however, those are who against old ethic standards are ignorant of the fact that possession can buy anything, except morality. Society need those who can devote themselves to make things better, not those who spend money to destroy something that lasts for many years.

In conclusion, under no circumstances would traditional ethics completely be replaced by social status and material possession as mentioned above.