Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that

governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To

what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the government should enforce the free-college policy because everyone is entitled to get accessibility to higher education. While the reason seems valid to some extent, from my perspective, the provision of free-of-charge tertiary education could have an adverse bearing on both students and society.

The proponent of abolishing college tuition fees argue that such practice will do wonder for both the bachelor's degree holders and the privileged in several aspects. For example, they are exposed to a broader range of employment opportunities, especially the high-paid ones. As a result, their living conditions will witness a radical transformation. However, I believe such positive impacts are still questionable at best. When tuition waivers are offered, it means that the number of universities graduates will also increase. As a result, the recruiting process will become more selective than ever when the college qualification no longer remains the decisive factor, leading to mass young unemployment, thereby wasting an abundant educated workforce.

Moreover, pursuing college without fees does both the students and the communities a disservice. On the individual level, when students are forced to pay tuition fees, they are more likely to study seriously. However, the free-of-charge policy will raise an indifferent attitude in students to the university's curriculum. As a result, they will lose incentives to continue their studying career. On the society level, removing tuition fees will put a strain on the government coffer, thereby giving rise to budget deficits used for improvement in infrastructure, education, and defense.

In conclusion, while some immediate benefits are noticeable, with negative impacts on both individual and society levels, I believe enforcing a policy that helps waive tuition fees for higher education may not be desirable.