Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, tuition waiver is a problem attracting many people’s interests all over the world. It is argued that it may be better if the governments abolish university tuition and make it free for all students from a variety of backgrounds. While I agree with the assertion that people from different status need to have a chance to access tertiary education, I believe that fee remover may have bad effects on both governments and society.

On the one hand, pursuing higher education should be considered as one of the basic rights for all students. Firstly, after finishing the third-level education, students would be equipped with a host of essential skills which are required for entering a fierce competitive workforce. Abolishing tuition fees, therefore, broadens their opportunities to enroll in well-training and better-prepared education that they have ever learnt in secondary and high school before. Secondly, attending the college education with free-charge-of tuition is a good way for the underprivileged to surpass their tough life without burden. When students raised in poor families and their parents are unaffordable for the tuition fee, are given financial support from the government, that would be a marvelous motivation in order to devote themselves for the job market.

On the other hand, tuition waiver also has adverse bearing on everyone in the society. In terms of tax systems, there would be a severe burden for the government as they do no have enough money to cover the cost of facilities, manufactures or even payment for teachers if tuition fee remover policy continues to be implemented. Finland - one of the highest tax-paying countries in the world, for example, is under a bad pressure to deal with the loss of the public's money since it operated non-fee policies for university students. Moreover, as all students are unchallenging when pursuing tertiary education would cause enormous problems in the workforce. The employee will have the same level of education leading to a competitive and disorder world, in other words, have a bad effect on the foreseeable future.

In conclusion, governments can carry out some replaced policies such as scholarships so as to ease the burden for college students as well as insure every person from different background has a better chance to approach university education.