Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology is developing at a rapid pace, so there is a large quantity of interesting and helpful programs on televisions and computers. However, there is a school of thought that reading stories from paper-based books has more benefits for children than watching TV as well as playing electronic games. While there are some compelling arguments to support this opinion, I strongly believe that counterarguments should be considered.

On the one hand, reading printed publications brings about long-term advantages for children’s development. That is to say, reading books can improve brain connectivity and comprehension because reading involves a complex network of circuits and signals in the brain. As a result, when the reading ability matures, those networks also get stronger and more sophisticated. Not only that but children also can build their language skills up for the reason that they are intensively exposed to a wide range of vocabulary and writing styles that are rarely seen in TV and computer games, thereby applying them in their own essays. On the whole, those above are convincing grounds for the superiority of the benefits of reading stories from books over watching TV or playing video games.

On the other hand, taking up electronic games and TV programs act as a precursor to an enhancement of skills related to technology. In other words, technology plays an important role in society in recent decades, which leads to the fact that people, especially children, need to acquire knowledge about how to use and develop it. Furthermore, motivational factors also make children have a preference for TV and video games. In particular, when children absorb knowledge, they lean towards studying from TV programs or playing educational games that make the lessons become more fascinating by providing players with rewards and higher ranks.in short, all of those arguments demonstrate the more beneficial features of TV programs and electronic games than printed materials.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the advantages of books outweigh those of watching tv or playing games for children because books are more beneficial for the development of their brains and language skills which are limited when watching tv or playing games.