Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people claim that the most effective way to reduce crime rates is to extend prison sentences. There is also a great number of individuals that opines the opposite and believes that more effective ways can be used in order to solve this problem. Personally, I believe that increasing the time in prison sentences is not the best solution to that problem. The reasons why and both views will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, giving longer prison sentences may indeed decrease the rates of crimes since criminals that have committed severe crimes will not have the capacity to repeat them in prison. For instance, a child's rapist will not be able to rape a child again. Moreover, people with these kind of crimes deserve to spend the majority of their lives in prison in order to be punished for what they have committed.

However, there will always be criminals committing the same crime regardless the time they might spend in prison since it is psychological proven that the majority of them does not have the mental health to realize the severity of his or her actions.What is more, it is a fact that there are numerous cases where people that are later proven to be innocent were obliged to spend a long time of their lives imprisoned due to lack of evidence even though they were not guilty. Thus, it would be highly unfair for them to face a longer sentence than they would face initially.

In conclusion, giving longer prison sentences is mainly a form of longer punishment rather than an effective measure to decrease the rates of crime because as it is aforementioned criminals who are not mentally healthy will not be stopped by the extension of sentence.. Personally, I believe that people should look deeper in the problem and find more effective solution that extending the prison sentences.