Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are many who argue that investors of newly constructed building should be able to freely decide how to design the buildings the way the want. However, many opine the opposite claiming that this decision should be made by the government. Personally, I believe that investors must have a say when it comes to the design but without deflecting a lot from government's regulations.

On the one hand, it is completely reasonable that those who finance newly constructed buildings desire to build it the way they want because this is the main reason why they have chosen to give such a large amount of money in the first place. What is more, those investors may indeed have some very creative and innovative ideas and thus, they should be given the opportunity to create something that would highly enhance the artistic view of a country.

On the other hand, the government needs to contribute to the decision of the design of a building in order to make sure that the history or the already existing exhibitions of a country will not be distorted. For instance, an investor may decide to build something that hides or destroys a monument of significant importance. In that particular case the government must prevent it and a more effective and harmless design needs to be decided.

In conclusion, I personally believe that financiers of newly constructed building should design it the way they wish, but only after the plan of the designee has been completely approved by the government and does not distort and other substantial parts of a country.