Some people believe government should spend money on building trains and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider road is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

It is obvious that traffic congestion happens at a high frequency in cities. While some people suppose government should invest money on upgrading the quality of road systems, I agree with those who think the construction of trains and subway lines is a better idea to reduce traffic jams.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that building new and wider roads will alleviate traffic congestion. Firstly, the existing roads are obviously inadequate to deal with the growing volume of traffic, especially in city center. As many cities are extended now, people live in outskirt have to use car to commute to work, so new roads must be constructed to meet the demands of the increasing number of cars. Secondly, even in the outsides of cities, there are more and more traffic congestion. Therefore, new roads are essential for people to reach their destination without facing the problem of traffic jams.

On the other hand, some people argue that the construction of rails and subway lines would be a much more effective solution to reduce traffic jams. Firstly, more people are encouraged to leave their cars at home and commute to work faster by metro. Therefore, the amount of traffic on the roads would decrease significantly. Secondly, it is sometimes impossible to build new and wider roads, especially in big cities, since land is rarely available for such development. As the result, metro networks, built underground, seems to be a more practical solution.

In conclusion, I believe that government should spend on building trains and subways line rather than building or widening roads in order to reduce traffic congestion.