Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an increasing number of people concerned about the heavy traffic congestion in many large cities worldwide. It is often argued that government should take responsibility for improving city infrastructure by constructing train and subway lines, whilst others believe that more and wider roads should be built instead. This essay agrees with the former idea and will discuss both points of view.

It is clear that public transport such as trains and subways provide an accessible mean of transport by reducing personal vehicles on roads leading to the traffic congestion reduction. Furthermore, with regards to environmental protection, it helps reduce the pollutant emission from vehicles. It is therefore agreed that the construction of train and subway lines is a better solution to reduce traffic congestion. Japan is a prime example, where witnessed a reduction of 45% of this phenomenon due to the appearance of two subway lines being built in each of the three largest cities namely Tokyo, Kyoto, and Hiroshima in 2014.

However, those opposed to this advocate that the road extension is a much better option to decrease this phenomenon. Road extension, therefore, open larger roads for transport flows to circulate easily, especially in rush hours. However, this option requires a great deal amount of money as well as destroy residential houses. The authorities of Ho Chi Minh city have recently applied this method in district 7 which involving heavy traffic congestion every evening. It was, however, restricted by local people because of losing part of their house areas.

In conclusion, despite being easily constructed, the later option brings many drawbacks to the local citizens, whereas the former one plays a significant role of declining traffic congestion in many ways.