Some people believe that hosting international sports events is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both these views and state your opinion KHANH HOMEWORK JUNE 12

Different types of sports have played an essential role in the human amusing activity, therefore, more and more international sports events are introduced and established in many countries. A group of people believe it is a great opportunity for a nation to host this kind of event, meanwhile, others are afraid of the negative effects. In my opinion, being a host of an international sports tournament could consist of both advantages and disadvantages, however, the drawbacks seem to be eclipsed by the benefits.

On the negative side, international events mean a remarkable entrance of tourists from every corner of the world, including terrorists and criminals. Accordingly, people who commit crimes or robbery could accompany a massive number of tourists come to view the event and then threaten the national security networks of the host. In addition, in order to comfort the tourists, different kinds of luxury facilities will be built which cost a great amount of money and might be abandoned after the end of events because the expensive services of these facilities cannot suit the domestic residence.

On the other hand, owning an international sports program brings lots of massive benefits. Firstly, the national economy of the host country can immediately be thrust by a giant amount of the events’ spectators. These tourists may not come to a country only for a sports event, but they also want to visit the national landscapes and spectacular scenery. In this way, the host’s domestic economy can benefit from tourism and currency exchange. Secondly, it is a great chance for the host citizens to encounter different cultures and traditions. For example, back in 2004, Vietnam managed a regional football match that involves all Asian countries. At the same time, Vietnamese people were exposed to another multicultural interaction between these nations, which was a big honour!

In conclusion, hosting a worldwide sports event may present a security risk, however, I appreciate the advantage that this kind of event brings to the host nation.