Some people believe that individuals cannot improve environment, but only governments and big companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental issues have become a major topic of discussion among people and governments. Many individuals argue that environmental protection can be achieved only by authorities. I disagree with this opinion, as small movements by individuals can have a big impact; any effort for the protection of the environment will be highly appreciated and supported by the public, and this will increase the momentum. My point of view will be further explained below.

Even though many think individual efforts are useless, they have a great impact on a bigger picture. In other words, if everyone thinks that he/she cannot make any difference, there will not be any positive move. For example, in the waste management process segregating the household garbage items will take only a few minutes for the person who is sending the waste materials to the government agencies, but it provides a greater advantage for the government bodies since it is easier for them to process the properly separated waste materials. Therefore, when family members understand the basics of recycling while throwing garbage, they are actually protecting environment.

In addition to this, if media channels and social media highlight the environmental problems in a country, the public will react positively. This means that raising awareness about soil, air or water pollution may draw people’s attention to the seriousness of the issue. In Egypt, for instance, there was a media campaign and the target audience were the farmers who used to wash their animals in the Nile River; according to a statement by the Minister of Environment, many peasants have stopped such a negative habit and have become keen on having a pure drinking water for their cattle and families. This clearly shows that any minor initiatives, especially for the betterment of the environment, will receive a huge support from the public if it is publicized it properly.

Finally, small efforts made by the individuals for the protection of the environment certainly make a difference and encourage others also to contribute. In the light of this, I oppose the given argument which underestimates

individual efforts, and clearly state that individual contribution is as much important as the support provided by government bodies and multinational companies. Awareness will be required to include many citizens.