Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Organizing a world sporting event is the dream of every nation because it helps to portray that country on the world map. However, some may argue regarding the huge sums of money it would require which could otherwise have been used to uplift the living standards of that nation. This is a debatable issue, let us delve deeper into its aspects in the ensuing paragraphs.

First and foremost, the country which earns the rights to host such a mega event that keeps people interested across the world, becomes the focus of attraction for not only wayfarers but also the foreign business investment . Therefore, it promotes the travel industry and also increases the job opportunity for locals. For instance, in 2008 when China became the host nation for Olympics , people around the world appreciated the beauty of this Asian nation and also a huge surge in local employment happened. Thus, to be the part of these prestigious world sporting events not only bring pride but also benefits for the local business .

However, some are of the opinion that for a developing nation, the priority is to provide basic amenities to its citizen and investing huge expense for such events is not justifiable. While people require better healthcare , improved educational institutions and advance infrastructure , authorities should be wise enough to fulfill the residents requirements first. Moreover, in underdeveloped nations where corruption still remains deep rooted , these events can be used by the officials to fill their pockets and stealing tax payer’s money. Therefore, holding such events may look attractive but it should not be done at the cost of poor people needs.

In conclusion, in my opinion it is very honorable and advantageous to host such humongous events for any nation as it brings business and global recognition but at the same time nations should not compromise with its development.