Some people believe it is a good idea for students to work part time to ensure better opportunities in future.

Others are of the opinion, having a job while in university distracts the individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years working and studying simultaneously has become an important and widely debated issue. While some people maintain that a part time job is highly beneficial for a student’s future, others reject this notion, believing that working is detrimental to a person’s studies. Personally, I believe the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.

For a variety of reasons it can be worthwhile for students to get a job while they study. First of all, a student can gain vital knowledge in their given field. For example, if a person is studying to be a teacher, then working as a tutor in their free time will allow them to acquire experience before they begin their teaching career. Another advantage is the financial aspect. Many people rely on loans from their family or banks to partake in university. By having a part-time job students can earn money as they learn, which means they may not have the financial burden of paying back loans after they finish studying.

On the other hand, there are many negative aspects of working and studying at the same time. The biggest disadvantage is that work can be time-consuming. Students, especially those in university, have a heavy workload while studying due to numerous assignments and many tests throughout the course. If a student is overworked it could distract from their studies and cause them to lose focus, resulting in bad grades, which would affect their future careers. Moreover, students may have higher levels of stress due to their hectic schedules. This could result in a student feeling dejected with their career choice and they may even drop out of university.

Taking everything into account, although there are strong arguments to support the claim that working part time is advantageous, I am inclined to believe that it is better for students to focus on their studies because high grades often help them secure a better career in the future.