some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinon that children should be taught about the literature of their own country, rather than foreign literature. I disagree with this view because each kind of literature brings unique merits for the young generation.

It is undeniable that learning national literature is better than the other one in certain aspects. The key argument is that studying this kind of literature provides support for children to comprehend their own country’s culture and tradition. For example, a folk tale called ‘Su tich Banh Chung Banh Day “ is included in the compulsory curriculum of Vietnamese primary school, which assists the students in gaining insight into the origin of the traditional food that is often eaten in Tet holiday. Furthermore, national literature nurtures and promotes patriotism and national pride. For instance, in high school, students have a chance to learn the poem “Dat Nuoc”, which helps them know more about the sacrifice and difficulties their ancestors experienced in wars against invaders.

However, to say that learning the literary work of one’s own country comprehensively surpasses that of foreign countries is not necessarily a fair comparison. This is supported by the fact that foreign literature is able to broaden the young's horizon about the culture and heritage in other parts of the world. One might argue that it is not essential to learn about other nations on the ground that most people communicate with one another in the same race and nationality, only a few people stand a chance to go abroad and with the widespread use of social media, it is not complicated to find information globally. This line of reasoning is not sound. Our world is an integrated community; therefore, if young section of population are not equipped with culture-related knowledge, they will face culture shocks and conflicts. Moreover, things are always exaggerated on the Internet, not everything is trustworthy so it is more applicable to acquire knowledge from reliable sources like foreign literature.

In conclusion, the decision to study national literature or the foreign one should depend on the predilection of each individual.