Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Several youngsters have become addicted to using smartphones. This trend stems from two main culprits and I assume that it triggers many adverse effects on their well-being and study.

There are some contributing factors to smartphone abuse. Firstly, smartphone ownership becomes much more ubiquitous among the young, for their study requires them to attend virtual classes, research and submit their assignments online, not least during the epidemic period. Secondly, social media such as Facebook or Tiktok have become a main form of communication among the young, so if a child does not regularly access social media, normally by their smartphones, they cannot constantly update their friends’ status or reels, which might lead to social isolation. The time using smartphones escalates unstoppably without parental control.

I opine that the excessive use of smartphones exerts many detrimental influences on the young. Chief among these are health risks. Because of sticking their eyes on the screens of smartphones for hours a day, they can suffer short eyesight and other vision impairments. Also, overusing smartphones discourages them from participating in physical outdoor activities, and the sedentary lifestyle is the culprit of obesity. Another shortcoming is poorer academic performance at school since they may be tempted by online games, videos on youtube or posts on social media and do not spend enough time reviewing and doing homework.

In conclusion, many factors, including new emphasis on online learning, the dominance of online interactions and the lack of parents’ surveillance, increase the time youngsters use smartphones. I view the trend deleterious to physical health and study at school for children.