Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe
that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.
Discuss both views and give your opinion.
It is considered by some that a sustainable way to reduce crimes rates is increased the sentences years, while there are
others who think it is not necessary.
I personally believe that laws and regulations should protect our citizens from crimes by imposing rigid long sentences if it is
necessary. This essay will discuss both sides, using examples
from Queensland University and BBC news to demonstrate points and prove arguments.
On the one hand, there is ample evidence in favour of increasing the numbers of years in prison will deter crimes, violence
and robbery. Living in a complex society poses several challenges to our public justice system where individuals seek to live
in harmony and peace.
For example, recent empirical research Queensland University suggested that 20% of crime rates in Singapore has
reduced drastically as a result of rigid laws and regulation,.
Therefore, It is conclusively clear that regardless of the type of crime, residents should obey the law in order to avoid being
in prison for many years.
On the other hand, although there is a case for increasing the numbers of years in prison brings positive security aspects
to society, the overpopulation rate in prisons cannot be overstated.
There is a concern of the population growth in public prisons where governments allocate more funds and resources to
handle this problem. An alternative approach for reducing crimes is to impose a hefty fine and humanity work to people who
commit minor crimes such as petty crimes.
For example, an article published by BBC News showed that in Malaysia , the number of crime rate has substantially
decreased since the increased in penalties and fines.
Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that it is not necessary to impose harsh sentences in all types of crimes,
Local governments could determine what types of offences can be handled with humanity work and fines
To conclude from the examples and arguments given I firmly believe that rigid laws and regulations will help to reduce the
numbers of crimes and long sentences should be used appropriately and controlled by responsible authorities