some people believe that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In recent years, the purpose of museums has been receiving a great deal of public attention as some advocate for they should be an amusement place, while others are in favor of the idea museums should educate people. Both pros and cons will be analyzed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why museums should be enjoyable. First, since museums are regarded as one of the tourist attractions, their main aim is to entertain people. In fact, a myriad of museums exhibit a collection of interesting objects, videos to deduce visitors to visit, which will help them boost their revenues. Second, if museums are served as a place to educate people, they are inclined to become a monotonous place. This means that tourists are likely to get bored when they have to listen or read a lot of educational contents, such as history documentaries thus discouraging visitors from paying a second visit to these places.

On the other hand, under no circumstance should the educational purpose be marginalized. First, it is believed that the main aim of museums is to teach something for people beside educational institutions. As a matter of fact, the history behind displayed items should be explained by many professional staff in these places, which enables children to have a grasp of knowledge about many fields such as history, archaeology, science, culture and other aspects of life. Second, if museums lean totally towards the purpose of amusement, they will be no different from other theme parks or amusement centers. This means that the national history or cultural identity is prone to disappearing, thereby later generations are likely to know nothing about their ancestors.

In conclusion, both opinions seem reasonable to some extent. The purpose of museums should be both enjoyable and educational for mentioned benefits and drawbacks.