Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the problem of whether higher education will bring benefits for individuals or the community has been receiving a great number of public attention. Although individuals are not without advantages, the society is far more beneficial from the tertiary education.

It is believed that university education is only beneficial for students for some reasons. First, since students want to land a decent jobs later, having access to higher education and paying for the fees on their own are necessary. In fact, the environment of studying in university prepares for learners fundamental theories to do complex jobs like doctors or engineers which require deeper understanding of nature of subjects, thus making them become more competitive in labor markets. Second, by taking part in a wide range of activities in university, students are inclined to gain a whole new set of skills, such as problem-solving skill, logical thinking, cognitive thinking. This means that they are armed with soft skills to cope with a lot of problems, which is essential for their jobs in the future.

Nevertheless, a society with a vast number of accomplished postgraduates is valuable. Firstly, in order to boost the sustainable development of the whole community, it is undeniable that a decent educational system should be available for the majority of people without paying fully for their study. It is a testament that Finland provides the education program for almost all of students free of charge, which makes it easy to lower the barrier of illiteracy. Second, if the government funds for the education, every citizen are able to further their study, which helps the society have a lot of qualified employees. This means that these people are likely to help the society strengthen the workforce, which will bolster economic growth.

In conclusion, although students are not beneficial from university education, the society is more valuable. By investing in the tertiary education, the society will deal with a lot of relating issues.