Sport is becoming a business with high income for professionals and more companies have involved in financial and in other ways. It is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the business of sports has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is not without advantages, the downsides will be far more significant.

There are a number of advantages when sport is a job creator and a big-league economic driver. First, since both professionals and companies can reap tangible benefits, the business of sports is a win-win strategy. In fact, on the one hand, the business of sports allows players to make a killing from endorsement or non-official matches, vice versa, companies also earn a big amount of money thanks to entrance fees, advertisements and other services. Second, by encouraging companies to finance this industry, the government can release itself from the burden of national budget. This means that individual companies will replace government duties in investment and development of the sports sector, both in terms of facilities and infrastructure saving a great deal of national budget which in turn will be harnessed in other key areas for the purpose of the sustainable development.

Nevertheless, the disadvantages of this trend should not be neglected. First, since individual companies often have unhealthy policies to benefit themselves, they can make sport matches not transparent. For instance, private companies may resort to sports fraud in order to reap economic and political benefits, which is unfair to both players and audiences. Second, it is a good chance that athletes are prone to serious injuries, like bone fracture or head trauma, if they are required to play too many non-official matches, which potentially shortens the lifespan of their careers.

In conclusion, the negative implications of this trend are by far significant. By considering all the pros and cons, the government can find the best approach to prevent such companies from crossing the line.