Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With rapid development of economy as well as technology. We could see a huge improvement in our life where people are allowed to determine what to do within so many options. I strongly agree with this.

Modern society provides us with numerous choices in terms of education in contrast with the past where cultivation was the most important thing in order to feed the family. In other words, there is no concern about food anymore since it’s not possible for famine to happen with so well-developed agriculture, while almost everyone has the right to receive education. However, all of these could be imagined by people in 18 centuries. Therefore, from the perspective of education, many choices are offered to every member in this society.

In addition, due to the fast and powerful transportation system such as planes or high-speed railway, each person is able to travel or live anywhere in the world, leading to a wide range of choices of living as well as traveling. As it is efficient and cheap to use transportation tools, distance won’t be a concern for people in modern society, while it really put a limit on choices of people in the past.

Besides the convenience brought by advanced transportation system, the inventions of internet give us free and nearly unlimited access to information, resulting in plenty of options in our life. For example, without internet, the only approach to collect information might be talking to people directly or reading newspaper, which is extremely troublesome and not efficient. Yet, though internet, people now can have far more choices than before, since internet make worldwide information available to us.

In a conclusion, the significant advancement of economy and technology enable everyone to have plenty of options regarding education, work or traveling due to rising life standards as well as easier access to information.