Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a prevailing view that leaning history is the most important among plenty of courses, while others argue that it’s more essential to learn subjects like science and technology.

It seems plausible to consider history as the most important course in school, as it keeps a comprehensive record of events experienced in the past. In other words, it’s very instrumental for pupils to know about what the human society has gone through, because there is numerous invaluable experience that can be concluded. In addition, students can acquire a deeper understanding of their own nation’s culture by learning history. For example, a number of people are unable to illustrate the origins of their country’s festivals, which can be certainly found from the history book, thus leading to a better culture identity.

The opposing view, however, states the importance of science and technology compared with history. Since science and technology play an increasingly essential role in the progress of contemporary society, there is no doubt that they have a really important position. Besides, science and technology can provide pupils with tremendous opportunities in terms of future career. Nowadays, job applicants who master some IT skills will be preferred by recruiters since these skills can be conducive to improve the efficiency when doing repetitive tasks. Therefore, science and technology at school can bring a more promising career to students.

For my personal view, I would say they are equally important, as history gives pupils a better understanding of their country and science and technology make students more competitive and can find jobs easily from the perspective of career.