Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

7:02-7:41

We are living in the 21st century, which is full of opportunities and growth. The desire to achieve better had lead to the development of new products and services. We now have so many options before us to make our final choices. This progress has both sides, positive and negative which is applicable for both consumers as well as producers or retailers.

Firstly, the buying power of a consumer has been treated as the top priority of any firm. Every company decides the end product based on the customer's needs and desires. Secondly, Customer satisfaction is the major goal of any product line of a company and to achieve this they all battle for the best after-sales services, which in turn help the consumer to have all buying power in his hand. Lastly, this type of competition in the market help reduce the prices, thus helping the person to select good quality at an affordable price. Hence, we can say that having multiple options to chose from is in benefit of consumers.

On the flip side, because of the huge competition in the market, small scale industries are getting shut day by day, as they are unable to sustain in the war with the big multinational giants. This is considered a threat to the local businesses, which is affecting many families in small towns. However, from a customer point of view, having too many choices is not always good. Research says if a person is given two options to select from, the time taken to complete this task is generally half compared to four options. Some companies take advantages of this confusion and don't disclose all their clauses, which later on consumer regret. In addition to this, because of the too many options available in the market, one can see duplication as well, which is a nightmare for the retailer as well for the consumer. So, we can not deny the fact that having too much to chose from is not always good.

To sum up the above discussion, we can say that having a number of options to make the final purchase is good and bad as well. It is the customer who needs to be careful while going through the selection procedure so that he can take full benefit of this scenario.